1995 Ford F150 Pick-Up: A Love Story

1995 Ford F150 Pickup

Today marks a new chapter in the life of one 1995 Ford F150 pick-up truck, which served me well for 12 years and 80k miles and is likely to continue serving its new owner another 12 years and 80k miles more.

First purchased in 1995 in lovely Buellton, Ca., a small dusty town best known for its close proximity to the Danish-maniacal city of Solvang, I came to be the owner in 1997 after buying it used from its trustworthy original owner. For five years following it was my trusty sidekick as I navigated the hills and narrow streets of San Francisco, and on several occasions its bulbous green camper shell provide refuge to stray homeless people, who discovered how to sneak inside the pickup, get a good night sleep, and clear out by dawn. After being delivered cross-country on the top rack of a semi it has since served its duty as a local commuter vehicle and dump-truck. Until today.

The 1995 F150 was the final year Ford produced this model truck following a nearly 30-year run. As a result, it was an shining example of American automotive engineering. It rarely if ever suffered mecahnical failures and survived the most brutal driving conditions. This truck will surely be missed.

7 Responses

  1. I’ll miss it…where did it go? I guess it is fortunate I don’t live in Newtown on garbage day. See you Big Green!

  2. I’ll tell you what, there are a lot of people who dislike Ford, but my Ford Truck has served me really well, plus they are pretty much the only American Auto Manufacturer that actually has a profitable business plan. I have a small pickup though and really need a full size. I have been doing some research and I think I am going to go with the same body style as your truck, but I might try to get a 250/350…

  3. So sad! You had a good run in that truck with the carpet kit!

  4. Shoshi, we did keep the “Somebody Went to Pittsburgh and All I Got Was This Lousy Magnet” that had been on the truck’s metal ceiling for many, many years!

  5. Where did it go???

    • I sold it to the mechanic who told me how much it would cost to replace the break line (okay so it did have one mechanical failure but that was the fault of my neglect).

  6. I have this same truck, its a real energizer bunny (keeps going and going), with 160,000 miles; they will have to pry the keys from my cold, dead hand for me to give it up.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

