How to Make Replacement Scrabble Tiles

diy scrabble tile

Lose a Scrabble tile? Don’t fret. Here’s a simple tutorial on how to make your own replacement tiles from scrap wood with basic hand tools. (If you’d rather order the real deal from Hasbro and wait from them to be mailed, click here.)

For the love of Scrabble
We purchased the deluxe edition of Scrabble many years ago when we became Scrabble addicts mostly because the rotating tabletop makes it easy to play on the coffee table without knocking over drinks or messing up the tiles between plays.

Unfortunately, the kids have learned to love Scrabble as well (and we let them to encourage interaction with words and letters). But over the years we’ve lost 10 tiles to the vacuum or cleaning frenzies. To enjoy a Scrabble tourney this Thanksgiving, I was inspired to embark on a new Weekndr Project: How to Make Replacement Scrabble Tiles. Turns out it’s easy. You’ll need a piece of hardwood, a handsaw, sand paper (150 grit), and a hand plane.

Let’s get started

Step One: Find a long stick of hardwood that is close to the width and thickness of a Scrabble tile . Maple is ideal but I used white oak. Mill it to thickness and width using an actual Scrabble tile as your template.

Step Two: Since I don’t have a woodshop at home I used a simple bench hook (sometimes called a shooting board) on my kitchen countertop to support the wood piece while I milled it to exact width and thickness with a hand plane. Use a sander in a pinch or if you have a wood shop, use your thickness planer/bandsaw/tablesaw.

Step Three: Begin slicing off tiles one at a time with a handsaw (use a bandsaw or tablesaw if you have a shop).

sand the scrabble tiles and write on the letters

Step Four: Between each cut, sand the tile smooth, and sand the freshly-sawn face of the stick in preparation for the next cut. Finally, write a letter on your new tile. If you’re ambitious, you can apply a stain or finish at this point. I’m relying on the oil from our fingers to finish the tiles after a few rounds of play.

diy scrabble tile

8 thoughts on “How to Make Replacement Scrabble Tiles

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! A Day in the Life « welcome to weekndr.com

  2. Rolleyes @ Curt. Well done Weekndr for having the gumption to make something for yourself. I shudder to think what will happen to the world when the internet goes down and we can’t just order whatever we want from eBay.

    Your way is much earth-friendlier too.

  3. Thank you sooooooooooooo much. I have decided that this year for Christmas that I want my kids to really appreicate it and know that it’s not about buying things or how much you get. Soo, I decided that I am going to attempt to make most of my Christmas gifts this year and I wanted to make a magnet “free hand” scrabble frame. I saw someone else’s idea for it online and plan on doing it myself. They just got a piece of sheet metal and decoupaged some old dictionary pages all over it, let it dry, and placed a magnet on the back side of a bunch of scrabble pieces. I think it sounds like a great idea so I am going to attempt it myself. I have went to four different thrift stores looking for scrabble games with no luck so I wanted to make my own because I too don’t want to wait for shipping. Sorry I left such a long comment, I just thought since you too are a scrabble lover that you may want to try this as well. Once again, thank you!

  4. Pingback: The Return of Home Economics: Sewing, Sutchering, Woodworking, Oh My! | Weekndr by Matt Berger

  5. Pingback: 12 Years on WordPress! | Weekndr by Matt Berger

  6. Pingback: 8 more Weeknds ‘til 2023, might as well spend them here | Weekndr by Matt Berger

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.