#WFH Pro Tip: Wear a Green Shirt on Your Next Zoom Call

The Shelter in Place from COVID-19 means more people are working at home and using video conferencing call platforms like Zoom to communicate face-to-face with their colleagues.

After 6-month of becoming a heavy user on Zoom for calls with co-workers and clients, I’ve got a few fun tips to share:

  1. Wear a green shirt and you can use the Virtual Background feature to change the pattern. Choose from Planet Earth From Space, Blades of Grass, and the Golden Gate Bridge. (oh yeah, and also a fitting tip for today, St. Paddy’s Day!)
  2. Decorate the wall behind your video screen with some visual interest. I have three handmade skateboards hanging on my wall, plus a picture of the family, and a small wood sculpture I made. They sometimes help break the ice with small talk.
  3. Related… remove the clutter. Visual distractions can capture your call-mates attention when they should be paying attention to other things.
  4. Get a good set of headphone with microphone. My company sends all new employees a Sennheiser Headset. The sound is great, and it’s so comfortable on my ears.

Need more #WFH tips, I wrote 10 of them.

One thought on “#WFH Pro Tip: Wear a Green Shirt on Your Next Zoom Call

  1. Pingback: I’m a Polymath, Too! | Weekndr by Matt Berger

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.